In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Although it is argued by many that funds should be allocated to expanding the railway system to provide cities with very fast trains, others think that the money ought to be spent on renovating and improving the current public transportation system, and I am inclined to agree with the notion that improving the existing amenities brings more benefits. Admittedly, the extension of fast trains between cities may bring some negligible advantages to a country For example, according to some workers who are currently employed in manufactories, which are far away from their hometowns, can be offered convenience as fast trains provide a shortcut between their accommodation and their workplace. However, it is worth considering that such investments in these large expansion projects may not seem sensible, as this construction will not only impose a remarkable expenditure on the government but also will not lead to a multi-functional solution to all public transport problems. In my view point, I strongly believe that strengthening the existing transportation amenities can not only benefit its daily users, but also it can mitigate the environmental damages. In Simpler terms, although most of countries, considering both developed and developing countries, have already supplied the citizens with an extensive public transportation system, many of these mediums, such as buses and taxis need to be either repaired or replaced in order to lessen the car emission to the air, which will bring environmental repercussions in long-run. Moreover, once public transportation is updated, a larger proportion of passengers show an inclination to use them so that they consequently spend less money on petrol. In other words, the more updated the transportation system is, the more these environmental damages as well as traffic jams are imposed on that specific region. In conclusion, while many people believe that governmental funds should be given to extending railway lines for fast trains between cities, I adhere to the idea that advancements in terms of improving current public transport, can not only mitigate the environmental impacts of CO2 emission, but also a remarkable decrease in the traffic Congestion can be witnessed, as more people tend to use Taxis and buses.