Modern technology such as personal computers and the internets have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of their work instead of going to an office everyday. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation.

The majority has been benefiting from technology innovations such as laptops and internet, this has made them carry out some official responsibilities effectively in their homes rather than going to the office always. The pros and cons of this will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, the importance of modern technologies cannot be over-emphasized. These have made official tasks more convenient and faster. For instance, in this unprecedented situation, COVID-19 pandemic, many countries are taking safety measures such as social distancing which can only be easily implemented by reducing the number of people in office. Also, private and public establishments are shut to contain the spread of the virus. Hence, workers have been carrying out their responsibilities from the comfort of their homes. This has major impact on the economy as revenues are still being generated. For instance, booking is being made online and doorstep deliveries are done by drones. In addition, working from home with personal computers and internet provide opportunities to meet up with deadline because of its accuracy. Furthermore, companies are able to serve and retain their customers. In contrast, the major disadvantages of these technologies are that people now rely on their laptops for spellings and accuracy. Apparently, this has posed a negative effect on the staff, especially in their spelling and writing skills. Moreover, workers are now lazy to carry out tasks due to over -reliability of computers. In conclusion, the advantages still outweighs the disadvantages. Modern technologies have helped many businesses to thrive through advertisements on the internet and also contribute to economic growth.