19. News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news, and would it be better if more good news was reported?

News editors have a tough job in deciding what to broadcast and what to publish. In my opinion, there are several factors that influence their decisions and this essay will discuss it. And readers get accustomed to the type of news they like to read and it would be better if positive and encouraged news was reported. To begin with, some of the factors that influence news editors include cultural, political and religious traditions. By taking all these factors into consideration, editors want to make sure certain news doesn’t cause any chaos, confusion or controversies among people while also maintaining the authenticity of the news at the same time as best as possible. Moreover, there are other things to keep in mind, such as the number of readers, including the media maintains order and peace. For example, breaking news on television reports all the hottest news and all happening news whereas newspapers will have hottest news on the front pages and all other news on other pages. On the other hand, not all the news in broadcast and print media fall into the mainstream category since there are others who think that there is bad news, which is subject to reveal some ugly and negative aspects of our life and society. Most of the news is filled with corruption, disasters, rapes, accidents and deaths and some of them are often indulged in publishing and highlighting bad news because some people find them interesting. Whereas some individuals think that good news should be aired and printed as it changes their moods. Research on this study in one of the university has shown that positive news encourages humans in taking responsibility, taking action and building confidence and is one of the key factors for the well-being of society. To conclude, presenting news and informing people is a big job for editors and in order to uplift our motivation, more good news should be presented to us.