In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why this might be the case? Do you think it is a negative or positive situation?

The school of thought that in several nations, people highly value being in possession of a private residence instead of signing leases for rental houses is gaining traction. This essay would endeavour to shed some light on the driving forces behind this increasingly popular belief and also present my own perspective to deem it to have an adverse bearing on society. In the first place, the fact that possessing a residence are more desirable than renting one could be attributed to a host of following valid reasons. The first justification is that the acquisition of a private property is synonymous with having a higher social status. In many materialistic cultures, there exists a public’s perception that people who are in a position to attain such covetous desire are more revered and esteemed. Another compelling argument is that periodic rental payments could be a heavy financial burden that one must shoulder, which is likely to render he/she stressed out having to bear the thought of fulfilling payments on a regular basis. Meanwhile, nowadays, many real estate companies are willing to offer alluring discount rates to those taking out a mortgage to buy houses. Irrespective of the proponents’ aforementioned plausible rationale, I could ascertain that this ingrained fallacy has taken a heavy toll on many aspects. On the environmental level, the more houses are constructed to satisfy nationals’ demand for private residences, the more land has to be flattened combined with the inexorable clearance of trees and the surroundings. This could have a destructive impact on nature even in the short run. On the personal perspective, acquiring a house means an individual is possibly going to settle down in a particular place permanently. In the event of extreme weather conditions such as a hurricane and a cyclone which could heavily damage or even obliterate the property, obtaining a house might do more harm than good since he or she has to suffer from an unbearable financial loss. In conclusion, some explanations could hold responsible for the idea of owning a house rather than renting one. Personally, I strongly believe that it is such a dire way of thinking.