Some people believe that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, road safety has become a contagious issue. A number of individuals are of the opinion that a perfect way to enhance safety on the roads is by increasing the age- limit of four-wheel drivers. While I agree that it is a good way to control road accidents, it is not the best way, and other measures should be taken to increase road safety.   Increasing the age limit will certainly be helpful to boost safe travelling. This is because adults drive more carefully than teenagers, as they have family responsibilities. However, teenagers are fearless and often do rash driving which leads to the accident. To illustrate, the Indian government studied the accident data of the past decade and found that adolescents were responsible for more than 40% of accidents in the country. To counter this, law enforcement agencies in India change the age limit for getting a four-wheel permit from 16 to 18 years. Therefore, it is evident that this method can help in enhancing road safety. However, I believe that the best way to ensure safety on the street is to build robust road infrastructure and set a speed limit That is to say, according to a study, most of the accidents worldwide are due to poor road conditions and over-speed. Therefore, if governments build two- way or four- way lanes and set a speed limit, the number of accidents will come down drastically which will lead to safer travel. For example,  to increase road safety, Saudi Arabia built many wider lanes and reduce the speed limit to 120 KMH. As a result, within a few years, the number of accidents came down significantly.   In conclusion, although setting up an upper- limit for driving can boost safe travel on the streets, the best way to achieve this target is by developing the road network efficiently and by reducing the speed limit.