It is suggested that all young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work to help people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the community and the young people?

It is advised for adolescents to take on volunteering and jobs with no remunerations, for an allocated period to assist people in the community. In my opinion, such deed is highly beneficial both to the community in terms of extra aid and also to the individual who acquires skills and enhanced world views. To begin with, many organizations will appreciate the extra helping hand at no cost. This is particularly true in non-profit organizations where they are largely dependent on public for aid and funding. Such act promotes empathy within a community, as everyone becomes sensitive to other’s needs and undertakes acts that can benefit others without expecting monetary compensation. Another point to consider is that young adults develop an enhanced perspective on life. As they are exposed to different people with different backgrounds and statuses, they learn to respect and tolerate the differences, acquiring refreshed world views. The majority of adolescents admit that stepping out of their comfort zone to volunteer, involve and interact in a non-familiar environment has certainly shifted their outlook on life. Finally, unpaid work allows youth to master certain skills. When they engage in multiple fields voluntarily they obtain certain skills such as interpersonal, social, problem solving and team working, which are all essential qualities to have for their future career prospects. A growing number of employers are keener to hire individuals with a volunteering background due to their ability to incorporate the learnt skills in the firm. As such, these adolescents are more likely to land a job compared to their counterparts. In conclusion volunteering ought to be a key part in youth’ s life cycle. Not only it allows them to benefit in terms of enhanced skills, but it also fosters a sense of empathy within a society.