Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many nations require obligatory military service for young people of both genders. This typically begins after the completion of school when young men and women are mature enough. Some people argue that this type of compulsory service should be adopted by all countries. Personally, I completely disagree with this statement. In this essay, I will explain why. In some countries, young people, both men and women, are forced to serve in the military. However, these governments do not provide these young individuals the opportunity to choose their own paths. For example, many Eastern countries recruit numerous young men and women, who then must learn how to shoot guns or drive military trucks in war zones. Furthermore, in 2024, forcing people to do something against their will is a violation of human rights. It is unfair that young people in some countries cannot choose their own futures. For instance, I believe, like many others, that young individuals should have the freedom to invest their time in building their futures. They should spend their time seeking job opportunities they truly desire, such as becoming doctors, teachers, or surf instructors. In conclusion, I disagree with the idea of compulsory military service for all countries. War does not equate to freedom, and being a soldier is not synonymous with a safe job. There is no valid reason to advocate for the adoption of compulsory military service in other countries.