In many nations, people in huge cities either live alone or in small family units, instead of a large, extended family. Is this a positive or negative trend?

A question many of us have to ask ourselves is whether sharing the roof with a group of family members is more comfortable than having a place of our own. On one hand, I am inclined to believe that staying in a small-size household can be a way to fend off hassles from the others. On the other hand, hardly can we deny that having more people around, especially your flesh and blood, means we have someone to lean on during times of hardship. To assess if a person is suitable for living on his own or just with his partner, we must bring the advantages of this lifestyle into focus. A primary one is a freedom to make personal growth, as well as preference, a top priority instead of being affected by the other family members’ judgments. Assuming an individual is financially independent, he can make his own decisions on a whim without hesitation. Not only will he avoid being a burden to his family, but he can also put all his efforts into picking up life skills, which is absolutely going to be worthwhile down the road. Another beneficial characteristic of small family units is having no curfews, which might violate the liberty and privacy of a person. Although so far, a person can readily draw the conclusion that the aforementioned lifestyle is better than the traditional way of living, we must put the benefits of a close-knit family into perspective before judging. Living together under the same roof, the family members are willing to lend each other a helping hand. For instance, parents go the extra mile and even sacrifice their own happiness for the sake of their children. On top of that, when a sickness leaves us bedridden, your kins are the only ones who you can count on to be there for you. Although it is true that your closest friends may visit and bring your gift baskets, they will leave when it is their turn to take care of their own family. Only then will you appreciate the fact that nothing comes before family. Taking both sides into consideration, they point me to the conclusion that it all comes down to everyone’s perspectives and perspectives when it comes to starting a family. From where I stand, I suppose I have enough capabilities to live by myself.