The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Without a shadow of a doubt, we have deluged in high-technology devices since the introduction of them into each branch of the lifestyle of human beings. They are substituting with mechanical and antediluvian tools, methods, etc. One of which is nothing but traditional and hard-copy books having mostly been piled in libraries. Some maintain that this technology should not be exercised in the library owing to their capaciousness token up with them and their exorbitant expenditure which should be disbursed for scraping them together. Up to a certain point, I concur with this notion, notwithstanding it seems they could afford us a sort of convenience that we would not have otherwise had. On the one hand, those who are the proponent of this idea assert we are not allowed to use computers and application-based devices in the public libraries. First and foremost, in this case, what would tend to happen is the deviation of the new generation and our posterity from the scrutiny of the original book handed down from our ancestors, leading to the perfunctory read of documents in applications. Furthermore, so prohibitive and expensive are new media that the provision of them is not affordable more often than not, giving rise to less payment for buying books. Moreover, they occupy space more than books, so as to instead of them, several corpora can be placed. To this end, availing ourselves of them, we just bring problems in our libraries. On the other hand, those who are the opponent of this view declare high-technology media could be used. Firstly, while reading a book, journal, magazine, etc., we desire to track down a specific keyword. Thus, in this situation the new device, as they are searchable, can come forward and give us a utilitarian feature to accomplish impeccably our desideratum. Secondly, arriving at a public library sometimes, one wants to find a specific corpus and or extra information more than a book. Therefore, computer software, videos, and DVDs probably would be beneficial and efficient. To recapitulate briefly, nonetheless, new technology has some disadvantages, they bring about some advantages. Their disadvantages could be boiled down to 1) the aberration of our offspring from the literature used by our predecessors, 2) being costly and spacious, and their advantages would be 1) they are searchable 2) and in comparison to books, give us more information than we bargained for.