The quality of life in large cities is decreasing. What could be the reasons behind this? What measures can be taken to resolve this problem.

Nowadays, life in a metropolitan city is extremely hectic. There are several aspects behind restless lifestyle. Hence, this essay will discuss few causes behind it and different ideas to prevent problems for individuals. First and foremost, one of the major reasons is increasing in traffic. Since the culture in most urban areas includes corporate jobs, commuting between home and workplace in common which generates an enormous amount of traffic. Due to this, the precious amount of time gets wasted. For example, individuals living in Delhi and working in Cybercity Gurgram spend approximately four hours in their routine life while travelling to work, which can further be used productively. Secondly, due to the increase of private transportation, pollution in these mega cities is also growing rapidly. As the individuals are constantly inhaling poor air and smog, living in the skyline area is extremely injurious to their health. According to a survey, Delhi ranks in top 10 polluted capitals around the world. As a solution, Odd-Even formula can be applied for privately owned vehicles, so that there will be less traffic on roads as well as, it will assist in controlling the pollution rate around the cities, which can further ameliorate the basic lifestyle. To conclude, if citizens contribute effectively to save natural resources, city lifestyle can be upgraded with the help of strict rules.