Many people say that we now live in 'consumer societies' where money and possessions are given too much importance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes true that we live in this materialistic world and wealth is valued with much importance. In my opinion, some people are extremely money-oriented while others place more importance on other values. On the one hand, people need money for their daily basic needs and support their family. As societies develop, there are more employment opportunities available with higher incomes. With better salaries, people can now afford a better standard of living and better quality of life which has reduced poverty among the people. Moreover, there will be more trade between different countries and mass manufacturing that will gain more profits. This results in wealthy families owing big cars and houses and their status are a symbol of happiness. For example, the information technology sector has boomed and given a chance to all educated adults to earn good annual package and many of them come from poor family background. On the other hand, there are many negatives with consumerism. With large production in factories, there is more waste created which is thrown into the oceans and this has caused damage to the environment. Instead of using natural resources, people want to use cheaper raw materials and aim at faster results. This is the cause of greediness for more wage as they are not satisfied with an average income, but it is due to maintain status in society. As a result, traditional values are lost and there is no joy. To illustrate, many factories mass produce plastics and the fumes emitted has impacted our environment. To conclude, consumer culture plays a key role in peoples’ life and in my opinion, wealth and possession are not as important as family and it can’t buy happiness.