Many people think cheap air travel should be encouraged because it gives ordinary people freedom to travel further. However, other think this leads environmental problem, so air travel should be more expensive in order to discourage people from having it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the heated debates is whether the cost of air travel should be expensive or more affordable for the general population. This issue divides opinions between those who support affordable travel for wider accessibility and those who prioritize its environmental impact. The following essay will discuss both points of view and give my own perspective. Firstly, when people have the opportunity to visit other places, it enhances their chances of gaining new experiences. However, not everyone can achieve this because limited funds, especially for transportation. Therefore, reducing air travel fees can help people from all walks of life by easing the financial burden. For example, artists who want to visit London to see an exhibition might previously, but with cheaper accommodation and travel, they can afford it. As a result, they can meet their role model and gain inspiration for future artwork. Secondly, some people believe the authorities should increase air travel costs due to its environmental effect. Tourist can contribute to climate change because traveling further involve transportation, especially planes. A survey shows that tourism is responsible for 8% of the world’s carbon emissions, and almost half of those emissions come from aviation. That is why making air tickets more expensive would influence people think twice before going overseas frequently, which could consequently reduce the rise of carbon emissions. In conclusion, while the benefit of affordable flight costs allows ordinary people to travel further, it can have negative impacts on the environment, leading some to advocate for increased costs. In my opinion, flight tickets could be lower during specific times, so the negative impact people fear could be reduced.