Today, it is common to see famous sports people advertising sports products. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, It is a common sight to see plenty of sports companies using well known Sports professionals as brand ambassadors for introducing their products into the market and such marketing strategies have both positive and negative effects on the customers. The essay will focus on the both aspects of the issue. First and foremost, the advantages of such a marketing plan are that customers could easily identify great quality products rather than poorly manufactured one. Due to the tight competition in the field of sports business various sports goods are made available to the people, but there is an issue of finding out which products are fake and which are of good grade. Since sports persons have first hand experience in using such products for own personal use they are in one way experts in identifying authentic and reliable products. Thus, by purchasing items promoted by athletes standard of such material can be confirmed. For example, Virat Kohli a renowned Indian cricket member, appeared in the advertisement of boost energy drink where he endorsed the product to the consumers while appearing to preparing for a cricket match. On the other hand, some advertisement by sports personalities can be misleading. Sometimes celebrities promote poor condition products just because they are offered huge amounts of money as part of their contract with the respective companies. Spreading wrong information among the buyers can lead to serious health problems. For instance, a study was conducted to assess the nutritional value of energy drinks promote by various companies and the results showed that Peyton Manning (professional American footballer) and LeBron James, (professional basketball member) had the most number of endorsements for energy dense and nutrient poor products. In conclusion, several companies rely on celebrity endorsements of their products to market their products to a wide range of customers and this promotion method has benefits and drawbacks. Nevertheless, it's the consumer's responsibility to consciously chose products of high standards rather than blindly trust your favourite sports celebrities.