Nowadays most people are not as fit and active, as they were in the past. What are the main causes of this situation? Suggest some possible solutions.

In recent times a large number of individuals have poor health conditions when compared to previous years. In my opinion, this is a worrying state of affairs that can be attributed to a lot of prevalent issues like poor diet, unhealthy lifestyles, lack of exercise and environmental pollution. However, certain decisions can be taken by an individual to mitigate these causes. Firstly, Reduction of the dependence on fast-foods, which has been shown to contain a huge amount of sugar and fats leading to several heart related illnesses, is a step in the right direction. Thus, replacing these types of foods with rich, balanced diet meals will help to boost the immune system and increase vitality in an individual. Secondly, leading a healthy lifestyle such as, engaging in frequent sessions of exercise and abstaining from excessive alcohol consumption and smoking will help reduce the risk of liver and heart damage, consequently, generally keeping you strong and fit. Nevertheless, the environment also plays an important role in the fitness of the general populace. Persons living in regions with poor environmental conditions tend to fall sick more often than not. For example, the city of Beijing in China is known to have one of the worst air qualities in the world. This is as a result of increased rates of toxic gas emissions by big modernized industries. Therefore, strict regulation of industrial emissions and maintenance of clean and sanitized surroundings will lead to a better health status of persons living in such a locale. In conclusion, avoiding certain meals and harmful acts can greatly improve the overall fitness of an individual. Furthermore, regional authorities should be more concerned about the total well-being of their masses.