Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

Developing nations are focusing on copious efforts and resources on growing their tourism sector. I believe this is because more people are travelling than ever before and tourism has proven a potent catalyst for economic development. While concerns commonly associated with a growing influx of tourists persist, I am convinced that booming tourism in the less economically advanced parts of the world should be viewed as a positive development. Tourism in developing countries is getting a major push because of its increasing accessibility. Cheaper airfares coupled with the relative affordability of staying in places like Vietnam or Indonesian are what is drawing huge streams of tourists every year. These destinations are also gaining worldwide recognition from being extensively documented on social media, blogs, and the Internet at large. In addition to the burgeoning demand, another crucial reason why developing countries want to invest in tourism is its relatively low costs. Tourist amenities such as hotels and restaurants are going to be funded by private entities anyway, and the governments only need to help in the form of basic infrastructures such as roadways and transport hubs. Given the handsome return on investment that tourism offers, it is easy to understand why this sector is being given more priority. I believe the move to expand tourism in developing countries is eminently advantageous. First, it creates jobs, generates revenues, and ultimately is a boon to economic growth. Second, the construction of social infrastructures that initially aim to accommodate tourists will benefit citizens also. Finally, the interest of foreign tourists in developing countries helps preserve the indigenous cultures which have come under threat because of rapid urbanization. In conclusion, developing countries are propping up tourism to take advantage of the boom in international travel and the exceptional profitability that this industry promises. When a country attracts a prodigious number of visitors, not only will its economy and its people benefit, but its tradition and heritage also. Historically, the growing presence of tourists did cause numerous problems, chief among which are pollution and congestion, but I believe with the insights gained from past failures and the technologies that governments have at their disposal, tourism can be exploited sustainably and responsibly in developing countries, and this is something we can be positive about.