Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there is an ongoing debate on how to give appropriate punishment to people who are accused with criminal activities. Some people hold the view that every kind of crime should have the same punishment, while others assert that each crime should be judged according to its background reasons that cause criminals to commit crimes. Therefore, I will discuss both sides and state my opinion. It can never be denied that a fixed punishment for each type of crime brings out many pros. First, it allows the judges to make quick decisions about what kind of punishment that the criminals should deserve due to the pre-set standard, consequently, there may be less time and costs spent on court proceedings. In addition, the decreasing crime rate can be possibly seen in this case. To be specific, taking the same harsh punishments such as the death penalty and life imprisonment into consideration, many people are not likely to commit crimes easily because of severe costs. On the other hand, others advocate the circumstances and motivation of an individual crime should be a priority when determining the penalty. To begin with, it is actually unfair to give each kind of crime the same punishment, because the motives for crimes can vary greatly even in similar criminal cases. For instance, some criminals commit murderer deliberately, while others are forced to kill for self-defending. If they receive the same penalty, the justice of the law would be neglected, and chances are that hundreds of people would protest against the judgement, which resulting in the outbreak of social unrest. In a short term, I agree that the same standard of punishments can benefit the court procedure as well as decrease the crime rate to a certain degree. However, we should also note that it is more likely to pose threat to the stability of our society in the long run. Therefore, I approve of the latter, which in essence respects the justice of law and human rights.