In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Having entered any shop, from a big chain supermarket to a small grocery, it is not unusual to notice a variety of food, imported from different foreign countries. In many instances, this fad is strongly beloved among chefs and home cooks, however, others do not share the same enthusiasm, strongly believing that it is extremely harmful to local producers. From one point of view, the availability of different types of food makes a lot of people content purely on a psychological level. For example, the presence of Italian cheeses and delicacies undoubtedly inspires a lot of individuals to try various recipes from Mediterranean cuisine, which, consequently, makes them happier. Moreover, simply by giving people an opportunity to choose from a plethora of products, this development unconsciously creates a sense of freedom and democracy. For instance, when Russia banned the import of food from the EU in 2014, nobody could foresee, that it was just another stepping stone towards the totalitarian state. On the other hand, some people with protectionist views are convinced, that the import of foreign food will have a detrimental effect on local farmers and producers, due to the fact, that these products typically draw a lot of attention, despite being more expensive at times. However, in reality, in many situations, the prices of domestic products are much higher, which only worsens the situation in the eyes of the consumers, for if foreign products are more affordable and sometimes even of higher quality, why even support local farmers? In conclusion, while I understand the concerns of many individuals for the local producers, I firmly believe that the import of products from foreign countries has a positive impact not only on the consumers but the farmers as well, by promoting healthy competition and contributing to the global economy altogether.