Many people are afraid to leave their homes because of the fear of crime. Some believe that more actions should be taken to prevent crime. Others feel that little can be done. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As the rates of crime are grown in many countries, despite numerous efforts made by governments to improve the situation, some people have lost their belief that lowering criminal activity levels is something feasible to achieve. There are valid arguments on both sides, however, and I will discuss them now. On the one hand, it might be said that it is impossible to alleviate the issue of crime because there are too many contributing factors, which range from media violence and proliferation of pornographic content online to unemployment and poverty. In addition, some people say that humanity has been combating crime for centuries but no notable improvements have been achieved so far. They believe that because endless attempts of our ancestors failed to stop law-breaking, we should not expect that our methods today will somehow tackle the problem. By contrast, optimists believe that legislating more stringent punishment for committing crimes, for example death penalty or life imprisonment, could be a sensible solution. They point to the evidence from countries, such as China and Japan, where the practice of this tactic has proven to be highly successful. Furthermore, it is often said that reforming the educational system can reduce the levels of crime, and it seems that there is some truth in this. If better teaching was administered in schools and colleges, perhaps more people would be able to acquire university qualifications, which would unequivocally boost their employment prospects. This would, in turn, lead to a considerable reduction in unemployment rates, meaning that a lot fewer people would have to resort to undertaking anti-law actions to afford their basic needs. In conclusion, although it appears that crime is a rather challenging problem to deal with, it is my feeling that raising the quality of education and imposing stricter punishment could far lessen its severity.