Some people believe that development in technology has brought various environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Though the ecological crises our planet is undergoing today are often attributed to technological progress, its impact on the environment remains surrounded by considerable controversies. There are valid opinions on both sides, which I will now consider. On the one hand, some people feel that advances in technology have led to more industrial waste being produced. This appears to be a major ecological problem as a considerable proportion of this waste is often disposed of into the atmosphere in the form of toxic fumes, which can severely afflict the health of terrestrial species, while some of it is also dumped into the seas and rivers posing an existential threat to marine life. In addition, it might be said that improvements in technology have precipitated the exacerbation of global warming by significantly augmenting the rates of car manufacture, which, in turn, seems to have raised the levels of private vehicle usage - a major source of greenhouse gases. By contrast, critics of the view discussed above state that technological innovations could curtail our reliance on non-renewable energy sources, such as coal, oil and gas, which are commonly believed to be harmful for our environment. They say that by using modern electricity generating devices, for example, solar panels and wind turbines we could exploit the nature's infinite power resources and thus minimise the damage we do to the ecology. Moreover, it is possible to say that technological progress has provided us with a means of recycling different materials ranging from glass and paper to plastic and metal significantly reducing the issue of waste disposal. Overall, I feel that technological development could tackle current environmental problems by enabling us to recycle our garbage and making the energy-production process more eco-friendly. This is as long as the volume of industrial waste generated is strictly regulated and the levels of car production are not too high.