Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that verbal transmission has more power than written communication. I agree with the idea to some extent; however, I believe the opposite is also true in certain circumstances. Personally, I think the main reason why many deem oral language a powerful tool is that speaking, whether face-to-face or not, enables the speaker to convey not only the information but also his tone and emotions, which play a role in getting the messages across far more effectively. Take the case of a presidential nominee as an example, the public is likely to be deeply impressed and better convinced of the promises made by the candidate when they hear the speech delivered with firmness, enthusiasm and optimism, rather than just read it off a screen or paper. Similarly, a customer is more inclined to buy a product when seeing the demonstration and persuasion of sales people than only read the product description. However, sometimes delivery in writing forms should be prioritized over the spoken ones, especially when it comes to business and law. Signing a formal written contract, for instance, is a legal agreement between two or more parties involved. Not only does this type of document ensure that all parties fulfil their agreed obligations, but will also be used as testimony if one party breaks their promises or when conflicts arise. Spoken words, by comparison, hold little value in these cases, and thus, cannot be used. Likewise, in court, for example, our words might be less convincing without valid evidence, such as written documents, to underpin the arguments. In conclusion, for the reasons cited above, it seems to me that spoken communication is more effective in some cases as it conveys the speaker’s both information and emotions, but there are occasions, like in business, when written language is preferable.