Some people think most crime is the result of circumstances e.g. poverty and other social problems. Others believe that most crime is caused by people who are bad by nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Currently, people are debating whether crimes are the result of circumstances or criminals' nature. In my view, both of them are partial, but I am inclined towards the former since it at least accounts for a part of crimes. It has been a consensus among legal practitioners that abnormal upbringing is partly responsible for delinquencies or crimes. Although this perspective is reasonable in considering individuals as the product of interaction between circumstances and selfhood, the predicament of applying this understanding to judicial practice is that it is hard to determine the extent to which a particular condition leads to a crime. For example, in the case of Simpson killing his wife, his counsel repeatedly implied that the pervasive prejudice against blacks in the US at the time contributed to the abhorrent crime, and hence the court ought to mitigate the punishment. In light of this, the essay can only partly accept this theory, as it is easily utilised to justify the claim that there is no criminal, only a terrible society, therefore every criminal can be exempted from punishment. However, despite the remarkable flaw, the theory is more reasonable than the opinion that there exist some people born with criminal impulses. This opinion has always been bound with racialism, and served for suppression against particular racial groups. For illustration, even after the abolition of slavery, the government of South Africa claimed that blacks were predisposed to commit crimes and conducted long-term segregation. In modern society, although it is inconceivable that anyone dares to blatantly combine the so-called "criminal nature" with racialism, this opinion has found many new combination targets, such as social class, nationality, or sexual orientation, which still pose a massive threat to society. In summary, although the opinion that certain circumstances have to be accountable for some crimes could make criminals escape deserved punishment, it is still more reasonable than the claim that there are some individuals born as criminals, which possesses the potential to justify suppression against certain groups.