Task 2: Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give yor own opinion.

Nowadays, sports is assigned an indispensable role in the social development. Others, however, argue that recreation is the only thing that sports could possibly provide. While the later opinion seems plausible for some, I still believe that the former would produce more long-term positive results. To begin with, sports is a universal language that unifies people regardless of their age, race, gender, or nationality. Whether it is players, or fans in support of a certain team, sports have always bonded people of different backgrounds together with a common goal. Family members bond and friendships form when groups gather around the TV, or travel to the big game. Secondly, sports give players the opportunity to have positive traits for a healthy mind, which builds a strong nation. Not only do sports serve as an effective tool to release toxic elements, but also preclude people from the sedentary lifestyle related to obesity and even cancers. In addition to such social benefits, sports can be deemed a highly lucrative sector which ascertains significant economic growth. In 2019, for instance, the taxes paid by Vietnamese football players in their nation accounted for 1% of its GDP; let alone football itself is a profitable industry, from which thousands of other related occupations appear. On the other hand, there are people who assert that sports should be only taken as recreational activities. They believe that when it comes into commercialization, a win-at-all-cost attitude also comes up, which does more harm than good to the society. Players resort to unethical means to win such as taking steroids, or even attempting to use excessive force or brutality against the opponents. Moreover, if sports are taken too seriously, then supporters of the losing team are inclined to involve in hooliganism. Take the Heysel Stadium disaster in 1985 for example, in which a number of Juventus supporters had come under attack of Liverpool fans, which then caused a wall to collapse, resulting in 39 casualties. The disaster was later described as "the darkest hour in the history of the UEFA competitions". In conclusion, although some people believe that sports offer only recreation, I suppose that sports are indispensable in society due to their advantages in terms of social and finance.