friendships have become more important than family relationships

Many people nowadays believe that friendships are more important than family relationships. However, other people claim that a strong relationship among family members should take priority over the friendships. In my view, I argue that family relationships are the most important unit in our social lives. On the one hand, people give preference in having a better family rather than extending connection as parent-child relationship is utterly special to each person. The first reason is that family is a place where you can truly count on and always straightforward with you. For instance, they will give you a trustworthy piece of advices when you cope with difficult things. Furthermore, the elder will teach you how to handle the situation wisely. Another reason is that family is a strong mentally support. They are always there for you throughout the ups and down of life. Friends may abandon you when things get tough. Nevertheless, parents are the last person that will run away from you even though what everything is going down. On the other hand, some individuals think that friendships should put in the first place as it is short lasting so we must maintain it. Especially for those who are the same aged, teenagers usually tend to think that it is easy to be in harmony with peers in sharing their preferences instead of family. Besides, the distance of generations in the family can create a different mindset as well. By the same token, it is believed that can understand us better than family members. However, when reaching adulthood gradually, we realized that finally a close-knit family are becoming eternal, but friendships will still end and it become a temporary relationship. In conclusion, I would argue that family relationships are more important than friendships because the absence of friendship cannot always be compensated by having a good family.