Thanks to low-cost airlines, many people can travel abroad. What advantages and disadvantages do tourists bring to the countries they visit?

Nowadays, many people can travel easily to many foreign countries owing to budget airlines. There are many merits related to tourism that could boost the local economy and create more job opportunities for local people. However, there are other disadvantages of tourism to take into consideration in terms of influencing the local culture, and it can adversely affect the environment. On the one hand, there are many positive sides of travelling abroad on host countries. First and foremost, tourists are improving the local economy. This is because they are bringing foreign currencies to those countries, which increase the federal cash reserve. Another additional merit is that this sector encourages foreign investment to come and open new companies. This will provide an adequate number of jobs to local people. For example, in Egypt, one- third of all new projects, which are running currently, is in the hospitality sector, which provides thousands of jobs, and decrease the unemployment rate. On the other hand, the demerits of tourism are various. Firstly, foreign visitors influence local people’s cultures. The main reason is that foreigners have a different set of values, which may vary from one to another country. For instance, Egypt is a very conservative country, and western tourists have different customs and tradition in the way they could affect younger generations by their unsuitable outfit. Furthermore, tourists could pollute the local environment in some countries. This is because some tourists may throw garbage on the beaches, which may affect wildlife. A clear example is that in Egypt, most coastal cities, which are densely populated by foreigners, their beaches are dirty and entirely with litters because of the high number of daily visitors. In conclusion, despite the positives in terms of the economy and the number of jobs, tourists have a bad effect on cultures and the increasing rate of pollution.