In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

These days, taking a study break after high school and before starting university is very common in certain countries. Many people take a year break to either travel and explore different countries or they may take up some job in gaining experience. Although all of these have clear benefits for students of different levels, the drawbacks also cannot be overlooked. A break period after high school has been proven to be beneficiary for the youngsters. Firstly, by visiting places, individuals will be exposed to diverse cultures, traditions and a wide variety of people and these visits are helpful to attain social knowledge. Next, prior working experience will be added as a good point, as it prepares them for work. Moreover, many companies prefer experienced staff members. In addition to this, work and travel make young people independent in their future university studies. As a result, they will become self-confident and it increases their self-esteem. On the contrary, taking a break can also have negative impacts on people. After working and travelling students can be neglect to their university, in some cases, they may not take any university studies at all. Even in the case of getting a course at university, the atmosphere of the class, such as attendance and discipline can seem hard to students. Therefore, students feel the hardships to adapt and overcome. Furthermore, making a trip will for a long period may affect their financial status if they run out of money which may indulge in debts. To sum up, there are lots of reasons in favour of encouraging young people to work or travel for one year after graduating from the high school, but there are also some disadvantages that have to be taken into account.