“Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication”. Do you agree or disagree?

The biggest characteristic that differentiates humans from the other species on the globe, is the ability to express their thoughts. In the viewpoint of some people, spoken communication is mightier than, written, while others are of diverse opinion. I however, believe that both modes of expression are prominent, depending upon the circumstances. On one hand, speech influences a large number of people and hence, are often used as a preferred form of correspondence by politicians, leaders and employers. To cite an example, the President of any nation, addresses the concerns and questions of the citizens, through public meetings and press-conferences, where he satisfies the public through his eloquent speeches and instant answers. Additionally, the CEO's of many reputed companies such as Apple and Microsoft encourage their workers to perform better, by hosting personal motivational talk sessions. Furthermore, speaking is seen as a more effective method of conflict resolution, as written or typed ideas are not that detailed and can create misunderstandings. To illustrate it, text messages are known to cause fights, between the individuals, due to confusion while phone calls are known to resolve the fights. On the other hand, writing is frequently used as a form of professional transmission and to express feelings more efficiently. As, writing is considered more formal than speaking, it is often used by workers to transmit important information, through emails and typed documents. Moreover, invitations to farewell parties and work gatherings are sent using greeting cards, for many years now. Lastly, a person always puts his emotions forward and offers blessings, by writing a love letter or sending cards with elaborate messages. To conclude, it can be seen that writing and speaking are equally important means of thought expression. In my view, depending on the occasion, one might be more powerful and effective than the other, but overall both are required in order to successfully show our stand, emotions and influence people.