Today’s typical method of teaching involving direct communication between teachers and students will not exist by 2050. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion and examples.

Modern technologies developing at a rapid pace these days bring constant educational innovations. Thus, there is an opinion that the present teaching approach consisting of live communication between teachers and students will completely disappear by the year 2050. However, I would disagree with this statement for two reasons. Firstly, despite the rapid spread of distance education, live teacher-student interaction can hardly be replaced. No computer, even the most advanced, could fully substitute for an experienced teacher able to adjust the learning process according to specific student needs. Having their unique study capabilities, each student usually needs a personal approach. Artificial intelligence, however, cannot reach the level of human emotions and provide such support instead of a teacher. While I acknowledge that online-based learning will proliferate in the coming decades, I still believe that students would not be able to study without the support of a live instructor, either face-to-face or online. Moreover, many nations would not be able to fully transfer to an education model without live communication, both technologically and culturally. Although certain developed countries may update their education systems with cutting-edge AI-based technology, most of the developing world could not afford this reform. It is the lack of basic education opportunities that should primarily be addressed in many African countries before they can adopt modern study approaches. Additionally, if some Western cultures may easily accept limited live student-teacher contact, this may go against community-based cultures, such as in Asia or in the Arab world. Interacting with a teacher is typically considered as socializing with an authority. As a result, it is hard to imagine a total no-teacher study environment around the world. In conclusion, even though technical progress is predicted to make education less interactive between students and teachers, this communication will not be completely excluded. Therefore, I believe that it will continue to exist around 2050 despite any possible improvements in artificial intelligence.