In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Telling young kids that if they work hard they can accomplish anything is pretty common in certain parts of the world. There are several benefits and drawbacks of this message sent to children. On the one side, this can empower the young kid, however, it can bring up some mental health problems, which can be carried to their adult life. One evident benefit of telling children that if they are brave enough, they will achieve anything they want is that they will a focused person in their future. Since kids do not have the real idea of what life is all about, if they start to be conscious of what they need to do to have something. For example, if to have a toy they need to go well in their studies, they will understand that they have to do their part. Furthermore, by doing this they will see in reality, how much effort they will need to put on different things in their life. The children will feel in control of their life, for instance, being more confident in their decisions. Thus, they will me able to measure and assess each situation since their childhood. On the other hand, sending this message for children might bring up an opposite effect, such as mental health problems. Each person has its own way to digest things and this message can put too much pressure on these little people. As a result, for illustration, they can feel incapable of reaching their goals, which can bring important problems such as anxiety or depression. Additionally, since this pressure will negatively impact their performance, those children can become a frustrated adult. This can be seen in the actual high number of people suffering with mental health diseases. In conclusion, adults have to find the right balance when delivering this message as it can either show for those children that they can achieve whatever they want or bring serious problems, decreasing their confidence, bringing mental health problems.