3. Natural resources such as oil, forests, and freshwater are being consumed at an alarming rate. What problems does this cause? How can we solve these problems?

An arising issue in recent decades has been related to the overconsumption of natural resources such as trees, water or mineral oil. This essay will discuss some consequences created by this problem and the solution to tackle it. There might be two major negative effects caused by this issue. First of all, as the population of human beings is growing, many forests have been destroyed for agricultural purposes or to expand urban areas. This leads to the destruction of a variety of natural species’ living habitats. In addition, due to the lack of knowledge and environmental awareness, a majority of individuals consume water excessively on a daily basis. This, together with the amount of toxic waste generated by the exploitation activities pouring down rivers and seas, has created detrimental consequences to many sea creatures. As a result, there has been a significant decrease in biodiversity over recent years. However, there are some actions that can be implemented to address this situation. Firstly, it is essential to educate people to be aware of the negative impacts caused by their irresponsibility when using natural materials. Specifically, authorities can educate local residents to promote understanding about how to use water appropriately and the importance of saving environmental resources. Next, the government should enforce strict regulations on illegal exploitation activities or excessive usage behaviours, especially for big corporations or businesses. For example, all of the forests are now considered national properties and are banned from cutting trees or poaching wild animals. In conclusion, the overuse of resources may cause the loss of other species’ habitats and a reduction in biodiversity. To tackle this effectively, national governments should develop educational programs and apply strict laws on material consumption.