University education should be free for all students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

How to ensure higher education to all students? Some believe universities should waive their fees for making it readily available to all pupils. This essay will discuss whether this type of step is necessary. There are some advantages of making the university education free of cost. Firstly, there are many students who do not try to study at university due to the expenditure that they cannot bear. As a result, far more pupils are seen in primary or secondary school than in undergraduate or postgraduate level. If such education was ensured, not only would they support their family, but they would also become a useful asset to their country. Moreover, making this type of education free means they do not have to worry about their educational costs. They can give their whole attention to their study and thus, reach their academic ambitions. Therefore, ensuring such scheme could be rewarding for both the current and prospective students. Nevertheless, establishing free tertiary education would certainly have an impact on the university. This is because universities pay their staff through the earning that they make from the fees. If the plan of free education is implemented, it will be hard for universities to operate their normal educational activities, which may result in the closure of many universities. In addition, some students could take advantage of this situation. For example, as it is free, they would try to stay at this level for a long period without worrying about the future. This could cost this type of institution a huge amount of money, which may hamper the provision of quality schooling. Therefore, this leads to a question why shouldn’t universities charge the students for providing a proper schooling. In conclusion, although this type of educational institution without fees can ensure schooling to all students, the consequences that this institution has to carry due to this outweigh the benefits. Therefore, in my view, this level of education should be made free only for the poor students.