The faculty at your university is considering a new course policy. The faculty is asking students to respond to an opinion survey. Choose the option that you prefer. Why do you prefer your choice? Explain the reasons for your choice. Write about 150-200 words. * Students need to take a final exam to pass the course OR Students need to complete a research project to pass the course

In my opinion, the teaching staff should give preference to research projects as a parameter for passing the course. My rationale is, that a research project brings students hands-on experience in the practical scenario of the problems going on in the market and would prepare us for the jobs once we pass out. Additionally, a capstone project planned in group settings allows students to form teams and brings innovative ideas to the table. Moreover, it helps to understand and overcome the challenges that are likely to encounter while working in the field. Besides, a final exam only evaluates the theoretical knowledge of the student, which only covers the existing theories and not the possibilities of future scenarios. Finally, I would strongly suggest the concerned staff consider a research project over the final exam as a deciding parameter for a student to pass the course. However, students should also be evaluated on the theoretical concepts, for that, the faculty can design the course delivery with a few theoretical exams like a midterm or a bi-weekly exam.