Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Scientists have used animals as their subjects to experiment on for their researches for centuries. Some hold the opinion that such trials should be completely banned as they put animals in discomfort, and sometimes in danger as well, whereas another group of thinkers believe that such experimentations are important for crucial discoveries. Importance of such researches cannot be denined defined, however, the advancement in technology have provided several alternatives. Firstly, animals, due to their anatomy and similar immune systems to humans, have always been used for drugs trials during various stages of the drug discovery processes. In other words, researchers conduct experiments, take observations of medicines' impact, make modifications and reconduct the trials. Unless a treatment's efficacy is proven on animals, it is not deemed to be fit for further trials on human beings. For instance, in the case of current pandemic, Covid-19, reasearchers are conducting vaccines trials on monkeys, and observing the production of anitbodies against the virus. Secondly, in different field of sciences, such as Psycohology, experimenters have also been studying wildlife, usually in caged and controlled conditions, in order to observe their behaviours in certain life threatening situations. Through such analyses, they have arrived at various thoeries and conclusions on human evolution, which have been found useful for human beings. While these such researches and studies have yieled yield immensely benefitial results in terms medical miracles, nowadays technology has made tremendous progress and can be further explored to avoid causing discomfort to animals. For example, advancements in Artificial Intelligence, and simulation technologies, have made it possible to study the adverse effect of a disease's on human body, and how should preventive and protective medications negate the negative effects, in lab conditions. Additionally, technology to create live cells in the lab conditions has already been developed. Such inventions can be utilized, and can greatly reduce the dependence on animal testing. To conclude, although conducting researches and trials on animals has made it possible to develop life saving drugs, scientists should now utlize technologies availble at their disposal to cause little less harm to animals.