Governments give a lot of support to artists, even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been used elsewhere. Discuss both vioews and give your opinion.

People are immensely influenced by the entertainment media they are exposed to. It is a commonly held belief that the government censorship on the amount of violence shown leads to a reduction in violent crimes in the society. While I don’t usually believe in government interventions, I have a completely opposite view in this context, and strongly agree that government supervision on violent crimes shown in movies and television is crucial. Out of all the arguments, the strongest one that the younger generation is enormously impacted by what they see in movies and televisions. Gory details of a murder or a fighting sequence may have psychological impacts on the impressionable minds. It has often been found that such disturbed or mentally unstable youths commit the most horrific crimes only because they saw them in the movies or television. If not caught early on, such juvenile criminals go on to become the most dreaded anti-social elements. To further add to my argument, technology now a days have made it possible to show violence and crimes with detailed visuals. Creative minds in the entertainment industry have been exploiting such advancements to bring a more thrill to the scenes. It has been observed that criminals are often wrongly inspired by such projections and try to replicate the same in real life. For example, an investigation of a recent kidnapping and the subsequent gory murder case revealed that the criminals copied the modus-operandi scene by scene from a crime drama. In conclusion, despite the fact that history is replete with violent crimes which happened much before television and movies came, and strict law are an important steps to reduce the crime, I firmly believe that putting a strict controls on amount of violence shown in the entertainment media improves the society in general and greatly reduces the number of such crimes.