Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It has been argued that international sports leagues can help cultivate good relationships between participating countries and can also serve as a safer outlet to release patriotic feelings. In my opinion, the given statement has certain limitations. An international tournament cannot be a means to cool down tensions between two countries, although it is suggested that it can be beneficial to some extent in releasing feelings of nationalism. Firstly, a sports event between countries cannot determine the fate of their relationship. Each sport has a limited audience, and a sport cannot be taken seriously as a decisive factor in the relationship with another country. It can only be beneficial for the audience to express their feelings. For example, consider the India and Pakistan cricket match; a tournament between the two does not ease their relationship; instead, it only allows the audience from both sides to release emotions. Secondly, it is government policy and stance that can help ease international tension between countries. The matter entirely depends on the hands of the government. Government policies, trade, aid, and future goals are the factors that decide the pattern of their relationship. For example, take India and Sri Lanka; the relationship between the two countries gained strength due to trade policies and the aid provided to each other. In conclusion, a sports event cannot ease the relationship between countries. The policies of their respective governments are the main factors in reducing tension between the two.