Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

Ever since the technology plays in part of academic fields, plagiarism becomes a grave issue all over the globe. In this essay, the causative reasons behind the problem and some possible solutions will be elucidated. First of all, the advances in technology results in availability and accessibility of academic contents easier than in the old days. This overdependence on technology can somehow help students to copy other people's idea which are freely posted on the internet. Moreover, these research papers or assignments are not deeply audited by mentors or professors, encouraging the copy-paste culture somehow. In addition, some students tend to buy the ideas of others for their thesis papers which is somehow part of plagiarism. Regrading these issues, some plausible solutions should be practised to reduce the amount of this culture. Firstly, prohibiting the use of electronic gadgets and the internet during the research period must be advocated at the universities. Furthermore, adopting study group discussions and studying in libraries should be more promoted, and then, strict audit by teachers should be established. Last but not least, rules and regulations for the copyright of the intellectual property ought to be legislated and penalizing the idea theft would definitely diminish this practice. To recapitulate, plagiarism makes students less creative, lazy and less productive considerably. This should be defeated by the above measures starting with the behaviour of over-reliance on technology. By doing so, the educational status of students will be greater which can contribute to success in their later life undeniably.