Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, advancements in technology have changed how people connect with each other. This has turned people into making much more friends but has also reduced the depth of those relationships. In my opinion, this is a harmful change due to the fact that it makes humans less able to communicate their personal feelings. Technology’s influence has enabled people to make many more friends than they possibly could in the past. This is largely owing to social media, which revolutionizes communication and helps people to keep in touch with each other regardless of their geographical locations. Another change in human relationships caused by modern technology is that the number of intimate relationships made has been substantially less significant. With so many people to care about, social media deters users from strengthening bonds. For instance, a stark difference can be observed in Vietnam, where most young adults 20 years ago – when the internet was underdeveloped, had much deeper connections than their modern counterparts. The changes made to the types of relationships people make nowadays are largely disadvantageous, for it deters people from having deep connections. Lacking valuable bonds means that they have almost no one to confide in during depressive episodes that are inevitable for most humans, and thereby increase the possibility of making unwise decisions. Examples of this can be found all over the world, where the cases of depression that cause suicidal behaviours are becoming more and more common, and one of the primary contributing factors is victims having no one to share their burdens with. In conclusion, despite having much more ability to connect, people are making less meaningful relationships; thus, the quality of relationships diminishes and harms their well-being.