Safety standards are important when building people's homes. Who should be responsible for enforcing strict building codes the government or the people who build the homes?

Precautionary measures are necessary when constructing people's homes. In my opinion, the government should take responsibility towards the enforcement of strict building rules and regulations, while the people who build these homes should stick to these policies. It is important that safety measures are taken when a house is being built. However, the government should ensure that stricter building codes are enforced, so as to ensure the safety of people in the environment. Most buildings today, are built with modern material and these materials might not have been investigated to ensure they are strong enough to be used in the construction of buildings, thereby endangering the lives of people during the times of disasters. For example, when there is heavy rain or wind, some of these buildings tend to collapse with some people living inside them, thereby causing their death. This is as a result of poor materials used for the construction. This incidence may not happen if the government made provisions for proper monitoring and surveillance of the materials used in the construction industries. Therefore, government should provide strict building principles so as to safeguard the lives of individuals and families in the society. It is essential that people who build homes get involved in these policy-making guidelines by adhering to the building codes stipulated by the government. These can be achieved by making use of recommended materials by the government, such as the use of strong woods and zincs. When they adhere to these principles, they would also assist in safeguarding the health of the people in the environment. In conclusion, I believe that the government should take full responsibilities of enforcing building codes, whilst the builders follow these codes. Subsequently, if these guidelines are enforced, regulated, and followed peoples' homes will be safe and no hazard will occur with respect to buildings.