It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the pros and cons of living in a media rich society.

The impact of media has never been so profound and influential in human history. While there is a conspicuous bright side to this growing trend, the negative effects are equally prominent. On the one hand, the expansion of media has no doubt brought people closer and helped create online communities that are more inclusive of different individuals. For instance, a non-heterosexual person living in an ultra-orthodox region might feel utterly lonely and excluded in real life; however, with the internet, he or she could easily find friends who share their thoughts and pain on multiple forums, which can be beneficial for both the individual and society. Moreover, the media allows organisations and people to publish and promote their innermost ideas, boosting diversity in society and making the voiceless more visible. On the other hand, mass media has already caused some severe social conundrums that cannot be neglected. First of all, driven by profits and revenue, news sites and magazines slant their articles heavily on those more eye-catching but mostly negative pieces, leading people to believe effrontery lies and conspiracy theories, such as a million-viewed YouTube video accusing Hilary Clinton of conducting witchcraft and eating children. Secondly, the prevalence of media has ineluctable damage to the mental health of the younger ones. According to recent studies, being exposed to unfavourable information has caused over 70% of secondary school students to show signs of severe depression and anxiety. Finally, since the majority of media is in the hands of the rich and powerful, the most direct result is the manipulation and abuse of news and information. An example of this can be found in most totalitarian nations where free speech is exterminated and news agencies have surrendered: the public is being brainwashed day and night by the distorted media. To conclude, it can be said that the growing size of the media is a double-edged blade that can spontaneously benefit and harm the world.