Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Economic development is, for most governments, the greatest goal of all. Other people believe that progress in health and education are as important. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why these three types of progress are equally essential for every country. On the one hand, it is thought by many that economic progress is the most important goal because it is how the development of a country is measured. For example, the difference between first world and third world countries is essentially the money produced by them. Another reason is that money makes people happier, less stressed and consequently, less mad at politicians. For instance, wealthy people do not complain about anything as they are satisfied with the life they carry, therefore if there is economic development there will not be so many protest rallies on the streets. On the other hand, some think that health is an important determinant of a country's level of development. India, in like manner, has a worse quality of life than Argentina because of the larger amount of preventable diseases they suffer such as diarrhoea. If people are ill and have to take medicines daily and require special care, the quality of life is noticeably reduced. Another important type of progress is in education. The proportion of professionals in a country is thought to be an essential measure of its development. For instance, places where best universities are located, are known for their excellence and the quality workers they produce. In conclusion, while some politicians consider that economic progress in their country is the most important goal, in my opinion, development in health and in education has been and should be just as essential. Adequate living conditions are ensured not only by money, but also by good sanitary measures and learning institutions. Therefore, this should always be taken into account when deciding on what measures to apply.