Some people think that there should be restrictions on a detailed description of crimes on television or in the newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

1. Some people argued that many television programmes and newspapers have described too specific details of offences for the public. 2. I completely agree with the idea that this is dangerous for the society and children, and some limitations, therefore, should be imposed to mitigate this problem.  3. There are many reasons why the specific description of criminals puts the society in danger, and to a certain extent, censorship is essential. 4. Firstly, many programmes and reports about crime have pornography and violence, these factors can cause an increase in crime rates because some potential offenders are affected negatively and are encouraged to commit offences. 5. Secondly, these television programmes and magazines could become step-to-step instructions for many offenders to learn and follow to pose a threat to society. 6. For example, some dangerous killers have taken many innocent victims’ lives using techniques, information and guidelines from previous crimes shown in the mass media. 7. Finally, violent and sexual images shown on the media could make some people who have a mental illness upset and have dangerous actions against themselves or other people around them. In my opinion, censorship is a sufficient measure to reduce these risks.  8. Apart from these points mentioned above, I believe that these media products have negative impacts on children, as a result, governments need to control these contents to protect the young. 9. In fact, children can copy actions they see on the screen or read in newspapers because their minds are too young and fragile while the stage of maturing makes them difficult to control their behaviour. 10. For instance, some children have become juvenile delinquency or people who are addicted to drugs or sexual activities after receiving negative influences from the detailed illustration of crimes. 11. In fact, parents cannot control everything their children watch and read so that governments should censor and require age limits for these kinds of programmes and newspapers, therefore, children can have access to the huge variety of informative and educational resources instead of harmful or toxic images. 12. Besides, governments should introduce strict laws to force these media to describe generally to inform valuable information to their audience without unnecessarily negative contents.  13. In conclusion, my view is that the detailed illustration of crimes should be censored and restricted because of numerous reasons, from its negative impacts on children to risks this action can impose to the public.