Task 2: Some people focus on news in their country, while others think it is more important to be aware of international news. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern days, national news is increasingly focused on while others believe international news is also noteworthy. Although each has its own merits, I believe both should be concerned about for the comprehensive view of the world. To start with, reading news in their country would help citizens be aware of daily situations, especially about crime. Accordingly, these people would be more likely to take precautionary measures such as securing pepper spray or trying to stay near the police. For instance, in a recent study about how the news would affect citizens’ life in the USA, states that have more people who are cautious of local news result in less crime rate compared to states that do not. On the other hand, international news might be beneficial in people’s planning, particularly when going to another country or investing in another country’s market. Firstly, having known about such information in a foreign country via news, people would beware of war or weather conditions, hence the appropriate changes in their plans. Two cases in point are in Iran, where the UK war has led to such deterioration in their currency and in Australia where ozone perforation is such a problem. Secondly, before investing in another country’s market, a company, especially an international one should know about that country’s economy, thereby having such precise investment. In fact, if they do not read about, for example, foreign trends, they cannot devise proper plans that would help them to flourish. In conclusion, while national news would help citizens aware of daily situations like crime, international news benefits them in planning, especially when going abroad or investing in another country’s market. Therefore, I firmly believe that people should be aware of both types of news, thereby keeping track of such important knowledge.