Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

On the one hand, there is a belief that zoos are becoming aggressive to wild animals, and hence ought to be locked, while the contrary view holds that zoos are helpful to preserve endangered animals. I personally believe that it is a great idea to hold and breed such species who are on the verge of extinction, in the zoos. This essay will discuss both the perspectives. The people who think staff and visitors in zoological parks are behaving inhumane to our natural creatures because the cages are cramped and animals require enough space in order to feel stress-free environment. In other words, such animals do not have access to move freely in zoos as they live in forests. Panda and polar bear, for example, move vast distances on ice in their everyday life, however, zoos are unable to provide them suitable weather conditions in which they naturally live. Thus, zoos seem unfavourable for wild species, so demanded to be closed. The concept of closing the parks is often countered by those who understand that human interference directly affects the natural habitat of animals. Although the government has strictly restricted the illegal hunting, poaching of animals and deforestation, people still break these restrictions in order to fulfil their needs. Owing to the continuous human practices, animals are losing their lives as well as their homes, and are becoming extinct, while some have declared endangered. The tiger is an example among some rare species which is preserved by the government of India in the national parks and kept in wildlife sanctuaries for breeding, unless it would be diminished completely. Eventually, it is crucial to open zoos to protect endangered species. In conclusion, most people consider that zoos should be closed as it seems pathetic and worse place for animals. Whereas, in my opinion, zoos are the best place to save animals from further extinction. Hence, captivating species in zoos is the way to reduce the level of animal deaths.