In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that people nowadays carry more potential health risks caused by consuming a huge amount of fast food. Therefore, governments increase the tax rate of junk food to low down the unhealthy food consumption level. While this solution can be effective in some aspects, I strongly believe there is a variety of alternative solutions. In fact, imposing higher taxes on junk food brings a great deal of advantages for customers. Due to increases in taxation, it can reduce a significant amount of junk that is consumed by the purchaser. However, there are still a number of people who cannot afford the fixed price such as homeless people or low-income workers. As a result, there are other solutions that can have positive influences on society. Firstly, instead of raising taxes on fast food, the government can adopt policies to decrease the taxation of healthy food. If the policy is published, more and more people will be encouraged to purchase healthy food which is cheaper. With the decline of fast food, people can keep their bodies healthy and improving the country’s economy as well. Apart from the practical solution expressed above, I supposed that publishing health campaigns or health education can also solve the problem of junk food. To explain, public health awareness campaigns are essential if people accept that they have a personal responsibility to look after their own health. These campaigns will mostly concentrate on people’s awareness of junk food. In addition, health courses should open for people of all ages that aim to broaden their own understanding. Being fully educated about health would provide basic knowledge of unhealthy food to avoid them later on. In conclusion, even though increasing taxation could bring some benefits, I would argue that there are other options to solve this junk food problem.