TOO MANY OLD HISTORIC BUILDINGS ARE IN DANGER AND DESTROYED IN MANY COUNTRIES. WHAT ARE THE MAIN REASON? HOW TO PROTECT THEM?

Historic buildings are the windows to the past, and they can provide vast knowledge about history and civilization. Nowadays, landmark buildings are being destroyed. This essay will discuss the reason behind the landmarks being destroyed and offer various solutions to tackle it. There are two primary reasons for the destruction of historical buildings, mainly being, maintaining cost and replacing these buildings with revenue buildings. Firstly, the government has to spend a lot of money to keep old buildings maintained and also old buildings are lack of safety issues, such as fire alarm, fire exits etc. Secondly, these buildings are replacing with new buildings from where profit can be made. For example, a recent study shows that in 2019, around 30 percent of historic buildings were replaced by hotels and restaurants in America. There are various solutions to preserve historic buildings, including renovating and turning into museums. The government should make the budget to restore the landmarks and also spend to maintain them. Moreover, the government should turn some old buildings into museums to earn revenue from historic buildings. For example, in India, 10 percent of revenue comes from museums. In this way, historic buildings can be saved for the upcoming generation. To conclude, historic buildings provide vast knowledge about human history. So, the government should spend to maintain historic buildings. This essay discussed why old buildings are being destroyed and how the government can preserve landmarks.