Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

In recent years, medical science has evolved and found cures for many chronic diseases which impacts children at an early age. These illnesses can be stopped with the use of proper vaccines, which immunes them from getting that diseases. As many people are not aware about the reasons behind the vaccinations that they are often not serious about, so, I think vaccinations should be made compulsory by authorities. Some countries in Africa and Asia are having week healthcare infrastructure along with lowest literacy rate, which is extremely dangerous combination for any society. Many people in these countries are not aware about the importance of vaccinations at an early stage of a newborn child. There are numerous campaigns are run by the World Health Organisation and by their local governments to educate them about the importance of immune children to safeguard them from getting these life threatening diseases in future. Polio and yellow fever are a few common examples of the diseases for which vaccines are given to children Although, many children get those vaccinations, some are not as these are not mandated by government. It is required for every government to ensure that all citizens in the country are not at risk of getting an illness which can be prevented. In clinical studies some of the diseases are found to be infectious in nature which can still infect others if someone is not vaccinated for that particular disease. Considering these all factors, vaccination should be made compulsory by law. An example of this practise is observed in some African countries where vaccines for illness like Malaria and Yellow fever are mandatory for everyone before visiting those nations. In conclusion, I think parents should be made responsible for getting their child vaccinated by law and they should be penalized if they don't abide by the law. Governments should also educate their citizens about the importance of immunization and run awareness campaigns at maternity homes.