Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the advent of globalisation, there has been a colossal upsurge in the environmental pollution. Few opine that it is the responsibility of the concerned authorities to mitigate this issue. However, I strongly believe that the collaborative efforts of citizens and the government can ameliorate the situation and I shall elucidate my viewpoints in the upcoming paragraphs. Firstly, adults of the society play an integral role in creating awareness amongst the younger generation to keep the surroundings clean. Inhabitants have realised that preserving the mother earth, is necessary to pass on a disease free atmosphere for future generations. Thus, their self consciousness alerts them to take the steps to mitigate this problem. To illustrate, nowadays there are several campaigns observed to encourage the planting of trees. Young generation is sensitive enough to understand the severity of adulterated air, hence they adopt multiple ways like abandoning the use of plastic, to deplete the air toxicity. Additionally, we cannot deny that steps taken by authorities to alleviate hazards to the ecosystem are appreciable. Managing bodies follow the rule of reduce, reuse and recycle. Subsequently, use of non biodegradable products is promoted. For instance, in India, the use of paper bags is recommended. Also, traffic workers perform regular pollution checks for the vehicles on the road and strict penalties for violation is observed. Furthermore, industries and factories with toxic waste are not allowed in residential areas. Besides, waste management of such setup is kept under observation. To conclude, improvement of the nature is the collective hard work of the population of the country and its administration. The efforts of both go hand in hand.