As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Since there is a positive correlation between job satisfaction and individual well-being, and adult people spend a lot of time at work, being content with one’s job could be a top priority, to which many factors such as a high salary and friendly environment remarkably contribute. Accordingly, it is not very realistic to expect everyone to be satisfied with their jobs; however, if some mindsets were improved, job satisfaction would be a more common phenomenon. Normally, the first criterion people consider when measuring one’s job satisfaction is its profitability. One’s income should be commensurate with one’s expenses so as to be responsive to their daily needs. Otherwise, workers would not be content with their jobs, and that jeopardizes their health and happiness. For example, when I was a teacher at an institute, I was not being paid well, and that took a great toll on my psychological health due to my deep dissatisfaction with the meager salary I was receiving in turn for the great effort I was putting into my job. Furthermore, a friendly working environment with cordial colleagues would also be conducive to greater satisfaction, and ultimately more mental comfort. Environments which are non-compartmentalized and non-hierarchical and colleagues who are supportive rather than disruptive serve as good examples. In light of these idealistic factors, it is not very realistic to expect job satisfaction to be pervasive among all. However, such contentment could become prevalent if workers lowered and adjusted their expectations relative to their qualifications. Newly-employed workers should not compare their job circumstances with those of more experienced and qualified colleagues because they should be more patient and make long-term investments to ascend the ladder of professional success. For example, while I held a teaching position at an institute under a lot of financial duress and unhappiness, I did not lose hope and instead worked more diligently to strive professionally. Now, I am reaping the rewards of my patience and long-term investment. In conclusion, in order for one to be happy with their life and job, they should have a remunerative vocation and work in a convivial environment. This might not be easily attained unless adults reconsidered their job expectations and invested in a more prosperous future for their career by working harder.