Some think that young people should be free to choose any career they like, while others say that they should think more realistically about their future. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

There has been a debate on whether youngsters should have the freedom to select the career they desire or whether they should be more realistic with the choices that they make and the effects of those choices on their future. This essay agrees with the second group on young people being more careful and will discuss both groups’ points of view. To begin with, the first group believes that only young people themselves are aware of their own interests and thinking twice about the decisions that they have made would only mislead them on their path. For instance, they indicate that many successful individuals throughout history had the freedom to choose the path they liked. Furthermore, according to research by Manchester University, the majority of successful business owners said they decided which career they liked in their youth and were free to choose. However, the other group have a different way of thinking.They tend to show that each person’s mindset is different from others and due to this reason, giving examples of other people is meaningless.To illustrate this, all my friends and I have our own separate thoughts and had different experiences when we decided our future work fields. Moreover,from those who turned out to be happy about their decision, many of us thought realistically when making our choices while some of us did not. In conclusion, although the first group gives good examples, it is important to remember that not all of us have the same background and mindset. Therefore, we must be careful as a young person when we think about our future.