International travel has become more affordable and many countries are opening their doors to increase the number of tourists. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this.

It has been seen that overseas journey is much easier now due to the tremendous drop in the air-ticket price, therefore, most of the countries have opened their avenues for international travellers. It has some positive aspects as the country can strengthen its economy, however, intermingling of different people can lead to loss of cultural identity. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of growing worldwide visitors. To commence with, it is clear that, if a country has a greater number of foreign tourists, it allows in boosting the revenue, and eventually helps in overwhelming growth and development of the nation. To illustrate, Singapore has a wide number of tourists throughout the year, which helps the country in generating money and thus developing its infrastructure from that money earned. Additionally, it is advantageous for the small-scale businessmen as they earn a large amount of money during the peak season. However, it has downsides too, particularly, when people visit another country, their local inhabitants tend to adapt the culture of those visitors, which ultimately lead to lose their own unique cultural recognition. For instance, every year, a vast number of people visit Thailand, due to the influence of outsiders, the local residents are not able to retain their individuality. Moreover, people who prefer to visit other countries, tend to ignore their own local exquisite places. To conclude, while the benefits of tourism are manifold, that allow people to enjoy out of their home countries, some still feel wary of this trend, as it curbs the practice of following one’s own traditions and cultures. Therefore, government should be mindful of both its aspects before taking this humongous step.