Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people opine that success in sports is determined by the muscular toughness of the player; others insist that mental vigour is more important for performing well on the field. In my opinion, physical stamina is more important than mental agility. On the one hand, mental stability is certainly important while playing a game. Players should be able to focus and they should never lose sight of their goal. Likewise, they must be able to play without losing their heart when the opposition performs better during the match. If they lose heart and become dejected it will further affect their performance and that will cause them to lose the game. On the other hand, muscle tenacity is even more important. Physical sport is not a mind game and as such there is not much that a player can achieve by simply being mentally strong. Sportsmen who perform on field require tremendous physical health and stamina. For example, in football a player should be able to perform for 90 minutes or more at a stretch. They have to run, jump, attack and defend and all of these activities are performed by the body. Without a strong body, they cannot continue playing. Of course, mental stability will help them stay focused without feeling dejected; however, having focus alone is not sufficient to win the game. In conclusion, players need both physical and mental powers to win a game; however, in athletic events, physical vitality is a lot more important than mental ability because success in such sports depends entirely on a player’s ability to play tirelessly for the entire duration of the game.